Back from the trenches

For the past two months, I have been the campaign coordinator for one of the most amazing people I have ever met.  Rob Gettemy was candidate for US Congress in the 2nd District of Iowa, and came in 4th in a four-person race.  While Rob lost the election, he is in no way a loser in life. He is a true to the core conservative and an unabashed Christian.  He has had a remarkable career in business, has a lovely wife and family, and is more comfortable in his skin than anyone I have come across for a long time.   

He told me a few days ago that he was concerned that I would be more disappointed with a loss than he would be, and now  with our defeat still stinging, he was correct.  This is tough to take this evening, and maybe through the rest of this week, mostly because of the degree of intensity. But life does go on, and so tomorrow I will go to work on the pile that has overtaken my desk, return some phone calls, take some ‘condolence’ calls, and prepare for a summer with no real commitments.

Now that I am no longer involved in the day-to-day operations and ongoings of a campaign, I will be posting here again on a more regular basis.  I plan to talk about what I learned about politics, friendship and the process that I have just completed.  It is an interesting thing this American democracy that we have.  Some of it is wonderful, some of it is very ugly, but it is what separates us from the rest of the world.

So, after a hiatus, I am back.  To those of you who have waited with bated breath for my next post, (yes, both of you!) I will be back to posting here again. Stay tuned…..you will find this all very interesting!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Back from the trenches

  1. I am glad you are back. Your writing is always relevant and timely and well written.

  2. Deb Thornton

    Karen – Thanks for your dedication and hard work on the Gettemey campaign. Though I supported another, that’s what primaries are all about. The fact that we had 4 people willing to put their name and time out there to take on Loebspac (or is the Losersac?) is a good sign. He is defeatable.

  3. Lynne Bosten

    Because I care about you and your goals and dreams, I feel your pain and disappointment over Rob’s loss. Rob is genuine and represents the very best of Iowa! The unfortunate reality is that those who are in power in the political parties or any other organization (i.e. school districts) have grown to care about one thing: maintaining their position and protecting themselves. Most of those individuals have forgotten what their organization’s goals are. They can use the rhetoric but have lost touch with their own beliefs and ideals. The idea of “grass-roots” has long since vanished from their radar. Therefore, they only endorse safe candidates and causes because they think that they cannot afford to “risk” anything. Rob and his many supporters/volunteers are left to “care”, often with no support from the national organization they represent.,

Leave a Reply

